Canada Stat HolidaysCheck the 2017 National and Provincial statutory holidays in Canada. Public holidays in Canada are also known as ‘statutory holidays’, ‘stat holidays’ or simply ‘stats’. A statutory holiday in Canada is legislated either through the federal, or a provincial or territorial government.
New Year’s Day, Good Friday, Canada Day, Labor Day and Christmas Day are the Nationwide statutory holidays. In addition to the nationwide stat holidays, the following holidays are mandated by federal legislation for federally regulated employees. All banks commemorate these holidays, and they are statutory in some provinces and territories : Easter Monday, Victoria Day, Thanksgiving, Remembrance Day and Boxing Day.

Date Day Holiday Observed In
January – 01 Sunday New Year’s Day Nationwide
January – 03 Tuesday Day After New Year’s Day Quebec
February – 13 Monday Family Day BC
February – 20 Monday Islander Day PE
Nova Scotia Heritage Day Nova Scotia
Family Day Alberta, Ontario and Saskatchewan
Louis Riel Day MB
February – 24 Friday Heritage Day Yukon
April – 14 Friday Good Friday Nationwide
April – 17 Monday Easter Monday Nationwide
May – 22 Monday Victoria Day Nationwide (National Patriots’ Day in Quebec)
June – 21 Wednesday National Aboriginal Day Northwest Territories
June – 26 Monday Quebec’s National Day Quebec
July – 01 Saturday Canada Day Nationwide
July – 9 Sunday Nunavut Day Nunavut
August – 07 Monday Civic Day All except Quebec and Yukon
August – 14 Monday Discovery Day YT
September – 04 Monday Labor Day Nationwide
October – 09 Monday Thanksgiving Day Nationwide
November – 11 Saturday Remembrance Day Nationwide
December – 25 Monday Christmas Nationwide
December – 26 Tuesday Boxing Day Nationwide